File for your Florida Homestead Exemption

Every person who owns and resides on real property in Florida on January 1 and makes the property his or her permanent residence is eligible to receive a homestead exemption up to $50,000. The first $25,000 applies to all property taxes, including school district taxes. The additional exemption up to $25,000, applies to the assessed value between $50,000 and $75,000 and only to non-school taxes.

First, you must have purchased your home and reside in it by the end of the calendar year in order to qualify for the exemption for the following year.  However, you may file your application anytime after your closing, but NO LATER THAN MARCH 1st.

The application for homestead exemption (Form DR-501) and other property tax forms are posted on the form page and on most property appraiser's websites. Click here for county property appraiser contact and website information. Some county sites have quick and easy online applications. If filing for the first time, be prepared to answer these questions:

  • Whose name or names were recorded on the title on January 1?
  • What is the street address of the property?
  • Were you living in the dwelling on January 1?
  • Do you claim homestead in another county or state?

If one spouse holds the title, the other spouse may file for the exemption with the consent of the titleholder. Your property appraiser may ask for any of the following items to prove your residency:

  • Previous residency outside Florida and date ended
  • Florida driver license or identification card number
  • Evidence of giving up driver license from other state
  • Florida vehicle tag number
  • Florida voter registration number (if US citizen)
  • Declaration of domicile, residency date
  • Current employer
  • Address listed on your last IRS return
  • School location of dependent children
  • Bank statement and checking account mailing address
  • Proof of payment of utilities at homestead address

If you are moving from a previous Florida homestead to a new homestead in Florida, you may be able to transfer, or “port,” all or part of your homestead assessment difference. Read more on portability.

See a summary of requirements and documentation for homestead related exemptions.

See section 196.031, Florida Statutes. For local information, contact your county property appraiser.

If you do not receive your tax bill by November in any given year, we recommend calling the tax collector's office.  You will need your tax folio number which is usually located on the upper left hand side of the deed.

 


English French German Portuguese Spanish



Portions Copyright © 2018 Pipeline ROI, LLC
Another website by Pipeline ROI.  | Admin Login | Terms of Use | Site Map
All rate, payment, and area information are estimates and approximations only.